A Brief Intermission

Friends,

I am in the midst of taking some amazing courses at the Catholic Theological Union (CTU) in Chicago. I have the great privilege of taking Latino Theology with Professor Orlando Espin of the University of San Diego and the Theology of Suffering from Professor Robin Ryan who is a member of the leadership team for the Passionist. These courses, along with the Doctor of Ministry program have challenged me to reconsider my own situation as well as the evolving situation in our world from the rich perspective of our Christian faith. CTU has always provided the most illuminating insight and this summer it has not failed in this task.

While I am working on absorbing the great wisdom and knowledge that comes from this theological institute I recognize that I am in the midst of a crossroads and I need to take some time to step away from social and theological reflection that I have offered up till now through this blog. In a sense I need to take my own retreat from what had been my ministry and focus on where I am being led. As I meditate in my favorite Passionist chapel where Christ in the Eucharist is so very present I felt the invitation by Christ to “come away to a deserted place… and rest a while.” (Mk. 6:30).

During the summer I might share some of my theological reflections but other than that this blog will be taking a temporary hiatus. By autumn I hope to have a renewed sense of mission and purpose and utilize this blog and possibly an accompanying website to serve that purpose.

May you all have a fun, exciting and peaceful summer.

About jdgonzo73

I am a Catholic lay minister in the field of Christian ethics, Latino theology and Paulacrucian spirituality. I am currently a Doctor of Ministry student at Fordham, an ad-junct professor at Molloy College and St. John's University and the Project Coordinator with the Catholic Roundtable.
This entry was posted in theological reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

